It’s Gettin’ Hot in Hurr

You’d never know it based on yesterday’s gorgeous Colorado (and everywhere else in the country?) weather, but it was freezing earlier this week! Inspired by chilly weather and lots of cooked turkey, I decided to do a crock-pot turkey chili. I was really impressed with how it came out and definitely plan to make it again. Maybe with the second turkey I picked up after seeing how cheap they were… eh. We’ll see, I think we are both getting a little turkey-ed out.

To start, I made a turkey stock using the leftover bones and skin from the turkey I had already roasted. I had kept the carcass in the pan and covered in the fridge for a couple of days so all the fat got cold and was super easy to skim off! So that meant I got to use the drippings from the turkey as well which I assume made a big difference in the flavor.

Yes, I used all of those tools for carving... it is harder than it looks!

Turkey Stock

Ingredients

Leftover turkey carcass

5 stalks celery + ends & leaves

1 whole yellow onion

2 carrots

4 cloves garlic

Directions

Cover all ingredients with cold water, bring to boil and then simmer for 6 hours (or longer to deepen flavor)

I let the stock cool and then put it into bowls to be stored in the freezer. I don’t know what I will use it for, it doesn’t seem quite as versatile as chicken stock, but we’ll see. Maybe a turkey stew or soup?

And now, for the pièce de résistance!

Bahaha!

(Source)

Katie’s Red Turkey Chili

Ingredients

1 cup of aforementioned turkey stock

2 cans diced tomatoes (I used whole and had to cut them up)

1 large green pepper

1 large yellow onion

4 cloves garlic

1 can tomato paste

3 tbsp leftover puréed vegetables and meat from stock – looks like barf, tastes nothing like it.

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

2 tbsp. chili powder

1 tsp. ground cayenne red pepper

2 tsp. oregano

3 – 4 cups chopped, cooked turkey

2 cups beans (combo of red kidney, black, pinto and garbanzo)

5 cloves

Directions

1. Sauté green pepper, onion and garlic until browned

2. Toss all ingredients into crock pot. Set it and for get it! (On low for about 3-4 hours. On high for about 1 1/2 – 2 hours)

3. Top with sour cream, cheese, crackers, etc.

What I’d do differently next time:

1. Less heat! I’m not a huge wimp when it comes to spicy, but this chili was hot! Nose runnin’ hot… probably use 1/2 tsp red pepper and maybe 1 1/2 Tbsp. chili powder.

 

Leave a Reply

