Gobble, Gobble: My New Favorite Fowl!

So I’ve mentioned before that I’m currently experiencing a chicken aversion. A bout of salmonella poisoning has left me hating the smell and very thought of America’s favorite poultry. Blech! Frank requested a trip to KFC the other day and I just about lost my biscuits, I had to bolt!

Taking advantage of the budget friendly, after-holiday meat sales has been a lifesaver. We picked up a 13 lb turkey for under $10.

And I didn’t even have to pull an “Extreme Couponing”

Whaaaaat???!!! I had no idea what to do with it, I’ve never even made a turkey before, thanks mostly to the fact that my brother is a fantastic chef and he and his wife always do the holiday cooking! I had plenty of time to plan though, that sucker was still a bit frozen after 4 days in the refrigerator…

Inspiration struck after a couple of Google searches. I think I’ve mentioned before, I’m not much for recipes. I like to get an idea of what could be done and then wing it in the kitchen!

Here is what I did:

I followed the directions on the back of the bird: let it thaw, removed the neck (::gag::, it was still a bit frozen to the inside of the body and it was seriously disgusting hearing it rip!). I missed the giblets (t0 be found later after roasting) which are stuffed in a bag where the neck originated. No harm, no fowl. Ha!!

Then:

1. Rinse bird from neck hole to…other hole.

2. Mash 1/4 stick butter with 2 tsp. each (ish) of paprika, oregano, salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder

3. Place butter mix randomly between skin and meat

4. Rub ‘er down with olive oil and sprinkle seasonings all over the skin

5. Roast according to package instructions, mine recommended 325* oven at approximately 20 minutes per pound, or about 4 hours.

I get my kicks where I can

Crispy!

For next time:

Remove turkey at 165* instead of the suggested 180*. A chef friend made this recommendation, but I was in fear of ruining another white meat for myself. The meat was a tad dry. Any insight?

After roasting, I carved (er… I use that term loosely, it is a lot harder than it looks!) the turkey to be used atop salads, in a sandwich and eaten straight out to the bowl. I also held on to the naked carcass to be further employed in another recipe. Keep an eye out in a future post ‘cuz it was the bomb diggity!

Leave a Reply

