With the Best of Intentions

I mentioned New Years resolutions just briefly to Frank this morning, a conversation that was fleeting. We both admitted that we don’t generally get into that, my reason being that I know I will never follow through. However, after a little more consideration, I realized that a list had already been made of goals I have for myself. One of my professors gave us an assignment, a Strategic Plan for the next 10 years of my life. I will spare you the details, but would like to include some of the things I have planned for 2012 that I KNOW will get accomplished!

  • Find a job that will take me through the end of my semester (January 2012)
  • Track our spending and get our finances under control (January 2012)
  • Graduate College! (May 2012)
  • Find and move into our new home (May/June 2012)
  • Continue blogging consistently (3x/week +)
  • Workout and track it (3x/week +)
  • Find new hobbies that do not revolve around technology
  • Try Zumba

That’s all I’ve got for now. Might add more later, but I feel like that is a good, obtainable start.

This evenings Workout: Full Body Workout w/ Dumbbells 

     10 Minute Warm-Up: Literally danced around my livingroom for 10 minutes! I closed the blinds, cranked up Comcast’s Hit                           list and went to town. I’d be lying if I said I don’t do this when Frank is home… but I tend to spare him my most rump-shakin’ moves. Maybe I should give Zumba a try after all!

Followed by this short ab workout

     Abs: 30 reps of each 

Crunches

Side-Bends (each side)

Bench Leg Raises (our coffee table is a nice substitute for a weight bench)

Dinner

Dinner was simple and delicious! Like I’m sure many of you are, I’m trying to get more fruits and veggies worked back into my meals. I still did some candy snacking today, but I’m hoping the extra produce I ate today kind of cancels it out.

I sautéed some green peppers, onions and mushrooms in olive oil. Then I fried an egg and put everything on to a toasted english muffin with a little mustard and a mountain of greens! I also had a sliced banana on the side (I always tend to enjoy bananas more when they are sliced. Weird.) I washed everything down with a glass of chocolate milk. I’ve never been a fan of protein shakes and I heard that chocolate milk can substitute for a shake after a workout. Works for me and it is a lot cheaper than whey powder.

Do you make New Year’s resolutions? Have you ever kept one? 

One response to “With the Best of Intentions

  1. Love your goals! As I said on my site in reply to your comment, your site challenges me as we have similar goals, and for that I’m grateful. 🙂 Financial responsibility – namely making a budget and sticking to it, is a huge one for the House household. Thinking of using Mint.com – ever heard of it/thoughts?
    Also, I’m totally going to try zumba, too!:)

Leave a Reply

